Fortune Cookie Dreams and Felt Creations

We had Chinese tonight from a place in Uptown with food good enough that it makes the terrible service almost tolerable. Of course there had to be fortune cookies. Aren’t there always? And every time that happens I start thinking about one of my favorite unrealistic dream jobs. I have quite a few of these if you must know. My first response to “What do you want to be when you grow up?” was, “I want to be a flower giver.” A flower giver. I wanted to go around and give strangers pretty flowers to make them happy. (I’ve actually done this before,  and I have to say it was pretty awesome). But that’s not the job I currently have in mind.

I would love to get away with being a Fortune Cookie Writer. Best job ever, right?

I would revolutionize fortune cookies for the world. It would be brave and new if you know what I mean. Skip all that daily affirmation junk, there is a big part of me that would love for someone to open up their cookie as they wait for their check and see this:

fortune cookie carsteal

I would be so utterly pleased to sit and type:

“Don’t look behind you.”

“Pretty sure you left the iron on.”

“Meet me at 1060 W. Addison at midnight, no cops.”

“Hope you weren’t expecting a ring.”

OK, sometimes my dream jobs are a little silly, but they wouldn’t be unrealistically far-fetched if they weren’t ideals.

After day dreaming and eating a cookie to two, I decided I would figure out how to make my own. Kinda.

I’m not much of a baker, so I started with the excess of felt lying around in this place and made some fuzzy ones. Easiest craft every by the way. Here’s how.

half done cookie

What You’ll Need

  • Felt
  • Embroidery Thread
  • A Glass (or something else round to make a circle with)
  • Stuffing Of Some Sort
  • Needle and Scissors

First cut out your circle and fold it in half.

Sew a little bit from the bottom up the center (see picture)

Fold Half the other way and you’ll start to see the cookie form.

I stitched around the edge with a blanket stitch leaving enough room for me to stuff a fist full of stuffing in through one corner and close it up.

So easy you don’t even need a template. Here’s what I ended up with:

guess which one's are felt...

guess which one’s are felt…

I think next time I’ll add little fortune tails on them. What fortunes would you write?

Love and stale cookies

“An aim in life is the only fortune worth finding.”

Robert Louis Stevenson

5 thoughts on “Fortune Cookie Dreams and Felt Creations

  1. Pingback: How do the strips get inside fortune cookies | eHow Tos

Leave a Reply

