Hearts of Felt pt1

Well now, it’s a lot later than I thought it would be when I had originally intended to post this, so this will be part one of a felt hearts project tutorial. I’m actually making some right now, and this tutorial will take you as far as I am. Tomorrow will complete it.

It’s really easy, and allows for a lot of wiggle room creatively, but between doing my actual job, running errands and spilling mushy potatoes all over myself (happens a lot) I ran out of not-super-exhausted time.

HERE WE GO:

Supplies:

  • Felt (and any other scrap material you are looking to use really)
  • Embroidery floss in complementing colors
  • Filling (example: cotton balls, stuffing, catnip, rice, lavender, beans) depends on what you want it to be.
  • Scissors, needle, pins
  • and the free template linked bellow
  • any extra baubles you want to accessorize with (ribbon, buttons)
Heart Template

Heart Template. Print Me!

I pretty much started out with a pile of all my scraps and whatnot sitting on the table in front of me and stared at it for a while. Then I found this template online and thought it would be a perfect, worry free craft to attempt on my “slow” day.

My Pile of Crap don't judge, there was a sale on black felt.

My Pile of Crap
don’t judge, there was a sale on black felt.

-First I grabbed a handful of my fabrics that are semi sturdy and started cutting making sure there was at least a back and front heart for each one I wanted to make regardless of size. It took me forever, but I ended up with a pile of them.

Next, I paired the hearts up in their own designs and pinned them in place. I really only do this because I have the worst worst worst memory in all of space and time. It’s a wonder that I’m wearing both shoes when I go outside.

-From there I took the front piece and put it together by blanket stitching around the edges of the shapes.

After that, you stitch EVERYTHING. Just leave a little room open to stuff it (smaller hearts can use just cotton balls if you like)

And that’s where I currently am, the stuffing and purposing phase. See what I’ve got so far? I’m growing fond of the pink one with three hearts.

felt hearts half done

felt hearts half done

Ok, that’s it for tonight before I pass out on my keyboard. See me tomorrow 4/6 to see my finished products and get more information on how to make this craft your own. In the meantime, if you have any ideas on what I should use these for let me know. I’m pretty up in the air about it still.

love and hearts.

“Here is my secret. It’s quite simple: One sees clearly only with the heart. Anything essential is invisible to the eyes.”
― Antoine de Saint-Exupéry, The Little Prince

Leave a Reply

